Receptive

To express your emotions, you have to be very loose and receptive. The unconscious will come to you if you have that gift that artists have. I only know if I’m inspired by the results. ~L. Bourgeois

Hay Is for Horses (1 of 1)
Receptive Horse

Whenever I drive by horses out in a field, I stop. Camera or not. Sometimes there are a herd of them (usually 4 or 5 total) grazing out in the distance and I will call them over and inevitably there will be one or two who come running. Others may not be as receptive to my human overtures and they will glance over to my way for a few seconds and I can almost hear them say, “Pfft, now why would I want to interrupt my day for you?”. But the friendly ones sometimes run up so fast I barely have time to change my camera settings. I am not sure if they are disappointed once they get to me and wonder where the carrots or apples are but they obligingly take a pet or two. If they are lucky, there will be some greenery that I can get to by the side of the fence that I will pull and feed to them.

The likelihood of greenery seems to be small these days. Dry scorched grass is all I can anticipate. Summer has arrived and it should be upwards to 100* in Prescott this weekend; Phoenix will hit 115*. I hiked from 8 AM to 10 AM a few days ago and decided I will need to roll out of bed by 6 AM if I want to truly enjoy my outings. Sometimes it is not the temperatures that get to me, it is the blasting sun from which there is little relief. This weekend will likely be pretty much an indoor, a/c kind of weekend for me.  Come on, summer…don’t fence me in!

Leave a Reply

