Bare

My sorrow, when she’s here with me, thinks these dark days of autumn rain are beautiful as days can be; she loves the bare, the withered tree; she walks the sodden pasture lane.

~ Robert Frost
Birch painting (1 of 1)

There is a certain beauty in gray, rainy days. We had one here in Prescott, AZ the other day. At first, the sky opened up and huge raindrops fell, hitting my skylight and sounding more like hail than drops of rain but drops of rain here, when they do come, can be more like dollops than drops. To me when it rains, it is kind of like Mother Nature saying to us: slow down, have a cup of tea, snuggle in bed a bit! At least that is how I see it; maybe I am just lazy. 🙂 But I feel poetry in the rain.

The above image is a technique that I try to perfect every so often when I see the opportunity in a composition. When motion blur is done well, it creates more of a painting than a photograph; identifiable subject matter but infused with mystery. The motion here is all in-camera, not a Photoshop blur. While I definitely believe in using post-processing to enhance an image, somehow doing this type of thing IN-CAMERA is like creating magic because it is done with your mind, body and instrument (camera) as opposed to just your computer program.  In some ways for me, it is like creating poetry within my camera.

2 thoughts on “Bare

  1. I love this effect! I have been experimenting with it myself, but nothing quite so lovely. Any chance you would give the settings on your camera to make the shot?

    1. Hi and thanks! I usually put the camera in Shutter Priority mode and shoot between 1/10-1/30 second. Much depends on your own movements,outdoor conditions,the subject itself. I will end up taking 10-20 shots to come up with something that I feel I am pleased with.

Leave a Reply

