Stationary

“We are either progressing or retrograding all the while. There is no such thing as remaining stationary in this life.” ~ JF Clarke

Old Schwinns
Old Schwinns

I guess I myself am retrograding as I am stationary right now after a minor procedure. I don’t like being shut down for 3 days but the worst part is NO BATHING as my leg is wrapped and cannot get wet until tomorrow. I am counting down the hours until I can take a nice, long shower and wash my hair!

That got me thinking about the John Muir Trail which I was supposed to do this fall (we could not obtain permits so that is out for this year)….how would I feel sweating and dirty and no shower for days on end? I know you can wash up in the lakes but I think I’d need a lake to appear at least every other day. Of course, I’d have been prepared with baby wipes and powder and such but every little thing you bring adds weight to your pack and must be thoughtfully planned out.  Yes, I’d have survived but bathing IS one of those things that we take for granted until we cannot do it.

Tomorrow:shower, oil change and pack up for a little weekend trip! 🙂

WP just told me this is post 500; now to make it to 1000!

6 thoughts on “Stationary

Leave a Reply

