Messy

“In the scope of a happy life, a messy desk or an overstuffed coat closet is a trivial thing, yet I find – and I hear from other people that they agree – that getting rid of clutter gives a disproportionate boost to happiness.” ~ G Rubin

Vintage Mess
Vintage Mess

Sometimes, little things do make you more content and balanced. Clearing out clutter is one of them. I have a small 2 bedroom condo and besides the here and there when my son comes up here to visit ( I mostly trek down to the Phoenix area to see him), I use it for storage. I have boxes of Christmas items, home decorations, clothes, etc. from when I moved here and “downsized” to a much smaller place. Once you really start thinking about it, there is very little that you love and need as far as material possessions are concerned. Yes, you need comfort and to surround yourself with some beauty but it is the overkill of “stuff” that weighs you down. Downsizing that 2nd bedroom is one of my New Year resolutions that I still have yet to tackle (blush, It’s March already!! How did that happen?).

8 thoughts on “Messy

  1. Such a beautiful photograph, I just love the tones. I have just moved from my hometown for the first time in my life to a new place and managed to get everything I own into a small lock up no bigger than a 10 x 8 foot bedroom. I got rid of just as much too lol. Si

Leave a Reply

