Parade

“I’m still passionately interested in what my fellow humans are up to. For me, a day spent monitoring the passing parade is a day well-spent”. G Trudeau 

Preskit Christmas Car (1 of 1)
“Preskit” Christmas Truck

I took my son to the Prescott Christmas Parade the first year I moved to Arizona. We were in the Phoenix area at the time so yesterday’s parade was the first time for me as a Prescott resident. There is nothing like a parade to feel a sense of community. Afterwards, we attended the Courthouse lighting. I find crowds draining so we stuck off to the sidelines….and then proceeded to have a margarita when all was said and done. 🙂 I will head down there and take some Christmas light images before the end of the holiday season  when it is less crowded.

Preskit is how they pronounce “Prescott” here. For years, I refused to call it Preskit.  My reasoning was if the city name was changed to be spelled like biscuit, I’d start calling it Preskit. But things, good and bad, sometimes have a way of seeping into our vernacular and guess what? I now say Preskit most times. Oy.

And that doll on the truck…..it is an old Whimsies doll. I got one when I was 2. Here is the proof:

18547_1335425826813_4021266_n

She is sitting on the box. They came in various “whimsical” forms. My Mom said I looked at it and said, “I don’t like its face”. LOL  I guess that’s why they were called Whimsies!

Leave a Reply

