Nourish

“People are like dirt. They can either nourish you and help you grow as a person or they can stunt your growth and make you wilt and die.”~Plato

Horse Feed (1 of 1)

I had a great day today, even though it got off to a late start. I hiked a bit by a local lake that I hadn’t ever been to before and then took a drive over to a rural area. I pulled the car over when I saw a herd of horses out grazing. It was already almost sunset and a storm had been brewing off to the north. It created some nice light for shooting but the best part of the day was just being with and observing the horses. I adore horses; there is something about their nature that always makes me feel at peace. They are not always gentle and as a matter of fact, the bully of this group kept nudging and biting the other horses out of the way so he could be near me. He even tried to bite me at one point but I was quicker.

There were also 2 mules and 2 cows in the bunch and I could see the hierarchy of the group dynamic. Both the mules and the cows were bullied away by some of the horses. At one point, one of the mules tried to come over to greet me but a horse shooed them both away. The cows were very curious and inched closer and closer to me although they would not dare come too near but instead intently watched every move I made during the 15 minutes or so that I was there. They did not take their eyes off of me once, which I found very interesting.  I headed home via a twisty-turny road but not before stopping to watch a beautiful sunset. Sunset  (1 of 1)

Then I had breakfast for dinner and a bath…like I said, a great day.

2 thoughts on “Nourish

Leave a Reply

