Letters

“We lay aside letters never to read them again, and at last we destroy them out of discretion, and so disappears the most beautiful, the most immediate breath of life, irrecoverable for ourselves and for others.”  ~Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Old Postal Boxes-I wonder how many letters passed through those doors/
Old Postal Boxes-I wonder how many letters passed through those doors.

Letters are passé now and I think that’s a shame.  Once in a while, I will get a letter from my Mom. Usually it accompanies an old photo of some sort and a memory of the past. Although you would not know it from this blog, I enjoy writing. Texting just doesn’t have the same sensual pleasure of a letter…..there is no exchange of DNA, less thought put into communication and it is also so disposable, just 2 clicks of your finger and poof, gone.

I used to send a lipstick kiss and spray the paper with my perfume if I was writing to a boyfriend. There is something about the effort involved and giving something more of one’s personal self in letter writing than phoning, emailing or texting. Back when I was a teen (and I had to walk 10 miles to school-just kidding 😉 ), my female friends and I would pass letters back and forth in class. Mostly the writing was fairly mundane but once in a while there would be an explosion of drama, usually involving a guy. We wrote and spent time together more than called each other. Phones were connected to the wall, which meant little privacy from Mom’s perky ears. No cell phones, no computers; we were less “connected”back then but more connected.  I miss that sometimes.

3 thoughts on “Letters

    1. Thanks, Beth! Another thing I thought of after the post…..it required real concentration as if you were writing in ink, the only spellcheck and correction allowed in a letter involved crossing something out. Anyway, it now just seems so much more like a gift of self in comparison to email/text, even though in the end they are both just methods of communication. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

