Youth

“In youth we learn; in age we understand.”~M von Ebner-Eschenbach

Antelope2 (1 of 1)
A Youthful Pronghorn Antelope with Budding Antlers

I spotted this guy from the side of the road while driving by a campsite in Bryce Canyon, flew from the car and tried my best to zigzag alongside the trees, hoping to hide myself until I could get close enough to get a decent shot of this young buck. At first I thought it was a deer but then recognized the markings and spindly legs.  We have Pronghorn Antelope here in the Prescott area and I pass them frequently going to and from work. The biggest thrill I got from this experience was not the image but hearing the antelope’s vocalization. Here and there he’d let out a soft bleating-type noise. I wondered if he was lost and separated from the herd as I usually see them here in a group of at least a dozen. Anyway, it made me want to bleat back “It will be okay” but I have yet to perfect my antelope voice. Or maybe they just talk to themselves…”Jeez, another tourist!”. At any rate, I was glad to get to hear his little voice, something that I had not anticipated when I ran out of the car to get an image.

6 thoughts on “Youth

Leave a Reply

