Fresh

“The garden of love is green without limit and yields many fruits other than sorrow or joy. Love is beyond either condition: without spring, without autumn, it is always fresh.”~Rumi

Golden Beets (1 of 1)
Freshness from The Local Farmer’s Market

Well, sometimes love actually withers away but let’s not destroy the Rumi enthusiasm.

Beets………let  me just say this about beets. When I was little, my Mom made me finish my beets, even though I gagged through the entire ordeal. To this day, I will not try re-try them to see if maybe I might just like them now as that whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth.  Literally.  The other bad food experience-liver. Don’t even say the L word in my presence. Mom tried to pawn that off as ‘steak” and it was another “Eat most of it or you are not leaving the table” item that I abhorred. She was smart enough not to cook either one of those foods often or there may have been more drama than a few tears.

On the other hand,  I always thought I disliked asparagus but had a sandwich with grilled asparagus, feta cheese, arugula, pickled peppers, raisins and a spicy dressing from a favorite food truck restaurant here in Prescott and I LOVED it.  But beets and liver, I’d have to say “Never”. About as close to beets as I want to get is with a telephoto lens! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Fresh

Leave a Reply

