Seat

“The seat of knowledge is in the head; of wisdom, in the heart. We are sure to judge wrong, if we do not feel right.”~W Hazlitt

SeatA lot of times finding something that speaks to me photographically  in the plain and ordinary everyday of life is about finding another layer and depth than what initial appearances or expectations suggest. There is something in this scene that totally makes this image for me. Yes, the various textures are a big part of its photogenic quality but it is the lace curtains that say something to me in the image. Amidst the hanging wire, cracking bricks, peeling paint, weeds and “seen better days”chair, the curtains make a statement: “I am more than I appear to be”. Little nuances matter. Scratching beyond the surface and finding depth is what takes an ordinary scene to a more compelling level, in my opinion.  And even though I generally shoot on a more intuitive level, most of the time not thinking (heart), I process more on a thought-based level (head).

2 thoughts on “Seat

Leave a Reply

