Dime

“Life turns on a dime. Sometimes towards us, but more often it spins away, flirting and flashing as it goes: so long, honey, it was good while it lasted, wasn’t it?”

~S King

US MINT (1 of 1)
$1000 of dimes must be quite heavy……

I always wanted to go back and reshoot this and finally, after about two years, I did.  The scene had changed a bit and it was set up better the first time I was there.  But at least it was still there! I guess that is why you need to initially always try and capture what you can to the best of your ability.

I have 2 images that I never shot that haunt me. One was in Mexico in the 70s.  I snorkled in this water cave in the Yucatan and to get there (in the middle of nowhere; this was not Sr. Frog’s in today’s Cancun) you needed to drive on this dirt road a mile or so.  We passed a small village, primitive hut-like homes, no electric or running water. In front of one of the huts were 2 kids playing naked, bent down drawing in the dirt with a stick. There was a fire going and the smoke behind them contributed to this surreal feeling of being in another place and time; a Mayan dream of the past.

The second was in the Rodin Museum in Paris.  It was of an elderly couple, walking hand in hand on a dirt path next to a small cafe. I only saw their backs but they were dressed in their finest coats and hats.  They looked so settled in both their lives and their relationship…..it was not surreal like the above memory but so average. Yet touchingly beautiful.

I was not as passionate about photography then and may or may not have had my camera.  If I did, I might have been too shy to actually take an image…..I really do not remember. Today, I’d never let such moments go by without making that image.  As they say, ce la vie! One cannot turn back time and life turns on a dime, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

