Radio

“To a medieval peasant, a radio would have seemed like a miracle.”~R Dawkins

Another one from Vulture Mine, from trip #2.
Another one from Vulture Mine, from trip #2. I’m not sure about the short wave radio (possibly 1930s)but one of the books is circa 1912.  

Vulture Mine.

Yep, I had to go back.

Some might say I can be a bit obsessive…they’d be right. I was so taken with the place that I not only have a book on order but bought a video which talked about the mine’s history. And for me, it is the history which I find so fascinating.  Me, normally not much of a history buff as I mostly find stories about war, royalty and such rather remote and uninspiring, smitten. There is something different about this kind of history for me; I can immerse myself in this and daydream about what life might have been like here. It is kind of an epic human battle, a struggle over poverty, harsh conditions, greed, etc. , all to build an average life in the desert. It has also inspired me to see even more mining ghost towns, one here in AZ in the near future, a few in Nevada and then the holy grail of well-preserved ghost towns: Bodie in CA. Now to make the time commitment and allot for the travel in my budget!


4 thoughts on “Radio

    1. Thank you, Elisa. That whole scene was even better (a teal rattan and wood chair on the side along with the table all this is sitting on, covered with a lace tablecloth) but between the holes in the roof and the lack of windows and doors to filter light coming in, there were big areas of over exposure. There is only 1 tour per week and they dictate the times so it would be hard to capture things like I would like. Even with the buildings…there is such contrasts of dark and hard AZ sun, it is almost impossible to shoot. Even HDR would be out as you have to follow the tour and cannot dilly dally too much. Ah well, you work with what you have, right?

      1. Yeah, they don’t like people going off on their own (which I actually got away with here towards the end).
        I’d describe it as my desire to get a shot sometimes outweighs my common sense. LOL

Leave a Reply

