Boot

“People who bite the hand that feeds them usually lick the boot that kicks them.”~E Hoffer 

Sad but sometimes true!

dirtyboot (1 of 1)
I love the detail work on cowboy boots and all the horse equipment. The detail work on that stirrup is beautiful! Real cowboys take their equipment and wardrobe fairly seriously!

I met this client who owns horses and does roping and the rodeo circuit.  We got to talking and I told him how much I enjoyed shooting my first rodeo and showed him my images.  He told me that I could probably make some decent money selling my images to the cowboys and is going to hopefully help me get started.  Anyway, I decided on my way home from Phoenix that I would return via Wickenburg and stop at a roping event for some practice. To be honest, I prefer shooting the bits and pieces of the participants (like the above image)……I am more of a detail gal than an action one.  I still find the action fun and try to get the dirt flying and the facial expressions, which is sometimes harder than it might appear.  You have to find a good spot from where to shot so you can catch not only the action but blur out the background enough to make it a good image. And keep things in focus.  As I said, not always easy.  But is is always challenging, one reason why I like to photograph those events.

4 thoughts on “Boot

  1. I think you should go for it, Maureen. You have an amazing gift for both the intricate details, and for the essence of the rodeo circuit – something I was unfamiliar with until I began following your blog!

    1. Why thank you, Elisa!
      I must say, I love the challenge of rodeo shooting. I am not that crazy about the roping (I always hope the cows don’t get hurt but I also realize that roping is in a cowboy/rancher’s job description). I really appreciate the cowboy culture, too. I never knew much about rodeos either until I shot my first one in June.
      The biggest challenge for me will be keeping track of the participants and whose images are whose! The groups start and finish in seconds and there is no break in between. The callings are almost like an auction! I’ll probably need a friend to help me do that while I shoot. Anyway, thank you. Have a good Friday!

Leave a Reply

