Entrance

“At the entrance, my bare feet on the dirt floor, Here, gusts of heat; at my back, white clouds. I stare and stare. It seems I was called for this: To glorify things just because they are.”~C Milosz

Old Mine Entrance (1 of 1)
Old Jerome Copper Mine Entrance

I think the quote above speaks to me photographically.  I’m more of a close up and personal type of photographer than a wide angle, landscape one (landscape as in subject and orientation). Many times it just seems too cold and impersonal.   I like to glorify the simple, whether that be the present or past, so this is the kind of subject to which I am drawn.  It’s beautiful in its own unique way and not in a way that shouts out to you but in a subtle way that makes you wonder about the things that once stood before it.

Jerome, AZ is about 45 minutes away from me, via this very dizzying loop of a road.  It’s another old mining town and like Bisbee, is an artsy and eclectic little town that is trying to find a reincarnation of its past and a road to the future.  Bisbee is more isolated in a sense as Jerome is a logical stop for visitors who go to Sedona yet Jerome seems economically just as much in a struggle as its southern cousin.  If you visit Sedona, be sure to stop by Jerome; it’s a pleasant and interesting day trip!

One thought on “Entrance

Leave a Reply

