Bandage

“If you want to cut your own throat, don’t come to me for a bandage.’~M Thatcher

Bandaged Fingers (1 of 1)
Two things caught my eye here-the elegant way this cowboy was holding his rope during a competition and his bandaged fingers.

I have made some observations and generalities about the cowboy culture in my short time interacting with the people while shooting (and talking) to them.  The biggest thing I have noticed is that they all seem gracious, open and modest.  I’ll stand by the sidelines and have someone tip his hat or nod and smile while riding by.  And I always try to do the same with any person that I photograph; a smile and an acknowledgement goes a long way.

When I do get the opportunity to actually have a conversation with a wrangler, ranch hand or rancher, they usually tell me an interesting story or tidbit.  The last one I spoke with told me all about his Dad, who was also a cowboy, who had been considered for the Marlboro Man ads and the photographer who did his proofs. When I asked him to tilt his head because of the heavy shadow on his face, he said to me, “Yes, it’s all about the light” and I smiled. It’s mostly about the light but certainly not all.  One of my favorite photography quotes is “Emotionally full and technically imperfect trumps technically perfect and emotionally vacant every time.”-V Versace. So, great light is good but provoking emotion through an image is great.

I have the absolute worst memory for names and I need to write them down to remember (same thing with the cars I shoot) as there are times when I would love to have a name and way to contact the person just to maybe re-photograph him or her under better conditions. And get more of their story.  Really, isn’t that what photography is really about:telling a story about a person, place or thing? In some ways, the more you know about a person, the better able you are to portray their essence.  And then sometimes, all you need to know is nothing but that he has a bandaged finger. It’s a subtle thing but it also says a lot.

2 thoughts on “Bandage

  1. Connecting with a stranger is rewarding, especially when they share something meaningful about themselves or their family. And I agree with you completely about photography, that it’s the story that draws a person in…and hopefully they want to stay awhile and look around! Thank you for sharing your cowboy culture stories, something I know little about but can still relate.

    1. Thanks, Elisa. I find so much rewarding about photography. And the more I observe the cowboy, the more I admire their down to earth, no nonsense approach. The kids even seem to have a quiet confidence. Anyway, thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

