Cut

“Never cut a tree down in the wintertime. Never make a negative decision in the low time. Never make your most important decisions when you are in your worst moods. Wait. Be patient. The storm will pass. The spring will come.”~R Schuller

TREE bw
Lone Juniper Tree

I went to Sedona last weekend to pick prickly pears and visit a nearby creek. The creek was pretty lush with greenery but not as much water was flowing as was last year. So, no real swimming.  I just dipped my toes in the water and gingerly walked on the slippery rocks, camera in hand.  I ended up taking more abstract type images at the creek than any others, like this one below.  Anyway, It’s always nice to get away from “Everybody’s Hometown” (that’s Prescott’s little advertising slogan) once in a while and we had a nice day.

reverberation (1 of 1)

Not many images came from that day and the tree above was probably my favorite.  You can see the storm that was brewing in the background and we eventually did catch a bit of rain.  This juniper stood proud in the middle of nowhere, begging me to take its picture.  What it is about the lone tree (dead or alive) in the vastness of a natural expanse that is so alluring? I don’t know but depending on the lines of the tree, it gets me every time.

We have had a ton of rain lately so much that the rodeo I was planning on attending today in Williams (up north about an hr away) was cancelled, as was their Labor Day parade.  I have the rodeo bug these days…for me,  it has everything as far as shooting goes: action, people and emotion, the culture of the west, horses. The good thing about that was I spoke with the rodeo organizer who organizes rodeos throughout the state and he told me to call any time for a press pass.  So, not a total loss!  Now, what to do today?

2 thoughts on “Cut

Leave a Reply

