Wings

“Long, glinting dragonflies shot across the path, or hung tremulous with gauzy wings and gleaming bodies.”~ Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Amber Dragonfly
How can you not feel somewhat cheerful when you see the dragonfly’s comical little face?

Looks can be deceiving.  The dragonfly has the face of a clown and wings like delicate stained glass but they are also very territorial and can be ornery when they feel threatened to give up their preferred perching space. (They must be doing something right as supposedly, they have been around since the days of the dinosaurs.)  But that is also why they are not as hard to photograph as it might seem, at least once they land. Most of the time, if you are patient, they will return to their makeshift “home”.

Sometimes I have the patience, sometimes they win out.  I had a blue one darting near me, back and forth, for 10 minutes before I decided it was time to move on.  These amber ones seem less threatened by me and my camera so I walked around waiting to find one in a background that I liked. The blurred out sage green and pink turned out to be the background that I found most attractive.

3 thoughts on “Wings

Leave a Reply

