Face

“Who sees the human face correctly: the photographer, the mirror, or the painter?”~P Picasso 

Face (1 of 1)
At first this guy smiled for me but I then asked him to look tough. Some people are very self-conscious in front of the lens and I could tell that this man did not relish being in front of my Nikon. I certainly can sympathize. Anyway, I’m thinking that this slightly comical version of tough might be even better than the usual version of cowboy tough that I illicit. I just love a face with character!

We have a lot of events here with cowboy re-enactments.  Cowboys and Western Ladies come to town and stroll the streets, have “shootouts” and various cowboy demonstrations.  I went down to the Whiskey Row Shootout in downtown Prescott this morning and shot for a bit, mostly concentrating on portraits and close-ups of their cowboy regalia.  I find that the men are much more interesting to shoot than the women as many of the cowboys just have such character in their faces.  Maybe it’s the fact that they are playing a role, maybe it’s a certain “look” that gravitates towards this form of roleplaying .  One thing I figured out for sure today: they ALL have mustaches, if not beards and sideburns.  And stubble is also almost a given!

6 thoughts on “Face

  1. Reblogged this on per mare… and commented:
    One cannot deny the “character” on this man face, in his endeavour to look “tough” he actually comes across as being “cute”. Perhaps being “tough” is out of character for him but the shot is a gem nonetheless. Made me smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

