Blessings

“Reflect upon your present blessings of which every man has many – not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some.”~C Dickens

Expect blessings and accept misfortunes with grace.  Count your blessings, small and great, don’t dwell on past misfortunes or mistakes. Open up to the bigger and the better.  It’s a simple philosophy but I believe that it works. There is only so much control we have within our power but our attitude is one thing that we do have control over.

Blessings (1 of 1)
Shot with my new 50mm 1.8 lens, I finally bought one after seeing it used as many photographer’s go-to prime. It’s creamy and dreamy and as I like to use shallow DoF for photographic artistic expression, I’m surprised it took me so long to get one. One of the first shots out of the box and I ♥ it already.

I used to say “homemade” prayers with my son when he was a little boy.  We’d each have to come up with 3 things for which we were thankful. Some days we all have to stretch it….at times I recall saying things like “I’m thankful for a bird that I heard singing today.” Some days that is more than enough. Today is one of those days for me as I visited the shrine here that firefighters, residents and visitors have made on a fence near a fire station in Prescott in dedication to the Yarnell 19 hotshot heroes.  It kind of puts life into perspective.  Here’s a shot from that memorial:

Yarnell 19
Never Forget

A wide angle lens from afar could not capture the entire scene; that’s how many people have come to give their thanks to those men.  I missed all the memorials for the hotshots due to being away and am glad I at least got to see this.

Leave a Reply

