Ape

“If it is true that we have sprung from the ape, there are occasions when my own spring appears not to have been very far.”C O Skinner

They are GREAT Apes!
They are GREAT Apes!

One of the things that I did while visiting San Diego was to take in the zoo.  It is expansive and has an ample array and variety of animals there but most of them were behind glass or wire fencing.  I have shot at zoos before and it can be quite a challenge just for those reasons.  Of course, most of the animals were sleeping or (as in the case with both the orangutans and the gorillas) chose not to be in the part of the cage where I could get a decent shot but right next to the glass, with all the dirt, smudges and reflections.  I cleaned the outside of the glass and used my polarizing filter, which helped but only in some areas. This image above was one of the better shots and the glass issue was almost mitigated by using those tactics. gorilla (1 of 1)

Anyway, I loved watching the Great Apes.  The gorillas absolutely draw you in with their serious, contemplative natures and the orangs, well, they are like watching fun kids at play. It’s almost a personality difference that you can see:gorillas more serious and orangutans more carefree and light-hearted.

I am sure that is all anamorphic musings on my part but in any case, you can see just how intelligent they appear to be when you observe them .  The orangutan in the above image was using his stick to fetch out goodies (it would be termites in the wild but in the zoo it was peanut butter or some other food). And the gorilla above, I guess he was contemplating the meaning of life. 😉

I have figured out that I enjoy wild animal parks more than zoos.  In the wild animal parks I have been to, people are more enclosed and the animals roam more fee, probably a better deal for all of us.

5 thoughts on “Ape

      1. I once was in Camp Verde, would you believe…I drove San Fransisco – Phoenix-Las Vegas-Los Angeles, had alsmost 8 weeks, it was great. So I git to know your desert.Looooong time ago, puuuh… 🙂

    1. Hi Elisa, Thanks and they are so intelligent and seemingly full of emotion themselves , you cannot help but have a soft spot for them. And there was a baby giraffe there that was the most adorable thing I have seen in a long time!

Leave a Reply

