Ocean

“Men go abroad to wonder at the heights of mountains, at the huge waves of the sea, at the long courses of the rivers, at the vast compass of the ocean, at the circular motions of the stars, and they pass by themselves without wondering.”˜St. Augustine

 

La Jolla Cove
La Jolla Cove

(Notice the rock mass on the left-hand side of this image…it looks just like one of the seals that inhabit one particular cove on the same beach.)

I took a short vacation to the San Diego area over the Memorial day (long) weekend and will most likely be posting shots from that trip over the next week.  These particular images are from La Jolla, a beautiful seaside community.  The array of greenery and flowers blew me away but I decided to stay away from taking too many of those shots as the water is a bigger draw to my eyes at this point.  We always want what we don’t have, right? I visited the beach a few times, went to the San Diego Zoo, walked around town and made a jaunt to the pier.  There were no nice sunsets and a misty, humid haze basically hung around the entire time, surprising me as I thought I read somewhere that San Diego was supposed to have the nicest weather in the country.

Here are just a few images from my first day at La Jolla Cove.   I am not sure about others but I tend to be able to really appreciate one or just a few images.  I read a number of blogs and even when some of the photographers I admire the most post a ton of images, I tend to tune out a bit and am not able to truly appreciate them all.  It was kind of like the first time I went to Europe…..you know, the 10 countries in 10 days type of vacation.  I tend to just get overloaded (Oh yeah, another gorgeously painted church, another museum filled with masterpieces, etc.  I could not truly absorb it all.)  The subsequent times I went, I concentrated more on one country, slowing down to really be able to take it in.  It’s why I usually only post 1 image in a post.  Maybe that’s just more my brain than that of others!

2 thoughts on “Ocean

Leave a Reply

