Hand

“In art, the hand can never execute anything higher than the heart can imagine.”~RW Emerson

I went down to Scottsdale this past weekend for a Spring Solstice celebration event and these stilt walkers were part of the performance.  The last festival I went to like this was in cloudy weather and the diffused light I had then was so much nicer to shoot in.  There were also a lot more people mulling around for this one: both things made shooting a bit more challenging.

We happened to drive by a wild horse and burro auction on the way down and stopped by for a few minutes.  A man was demonstrating how to break a wild horse and rope it and how he personally approached that whole process.  At the end of the demonstration the horse actually came up to me when I spoke to him and even the trainer was a bit surprised. I swear I have this weird connection with horses….for some reason they seem to trust me.  I guess all domesticated animals have a certain sense of intuition as to whom to trust.  Maybe it’s an energy assessment, maybe they just watch body language and look for calm movements and vocalizations.  But I do feel a certain affinity with horses and maybe they sense that.

I also got to eat at one of my favorite restaurants and had strawberry chicken salad and tuxedo cake….to die for.  All in all, a very nice day.

A stilt walker from the Flam Chen Troop
A stilt walker from the Flam Chen Troop

 

Leave a Reply

