Juvenile

“I set about seeking a thread, a theme, a style, in the realm of legend. Something that might allow me to give free rein to my juvenile sense of romanticism and the beautiful image.” L Riefenstahl  

A juvenile Canadian goose in flight.
A juvenile Canadian goose in flight.

This a crop of an image that I took with the new D600.  It is about 1/10th of the size of the full image and this is one of the major reasons to go full frame.  Not that I ever really crop like this but I was not shooting for image keepers,  purely testing out and experimenting.  I liked the panning on this and backlit bird wings always have, for me, a romantic feel to them. They are like angel wings and I thought between the blurred panning lines, light and dark contrasts and the bird and its wings in flight, it was a fairly pleasant result in experimentation.

I made the decision to return the D600 model I had(with its dust or oil spots) to B&H and exchanged for another.  I purchased this one from Best Buy and that one has even more noticeable, bigger and darker spots (no negative reflection on Best Buy)…I’d say oil spots as opposed to dust.  I may use the old “3 strikes and you’re out” adage and just hope that the next model is clean.  That’s how much I love the camera! And when you love something, you have to give it your all (within reason). Being that I don’t think Nikon has actually acknowledged this issue, it might be a while before I could obtain a clean model.  So therefore,  I am also considering a switch (back from my old 35mm days) to Canon and the 6D.  Of course, this also means all new lenses but as I have not yet invested much into my gear, it probably is now or never time if I do want to switch.  A lot of considerations to weigh and I am not in an I must have NOW mode.

 

7 thoughts on “Juvenile

  1. Thanks, OA and Gail. Gail, Mark III??? Oh, lucky you. Do you have a Mark II you’d like to sell? LOL I honestly am open to Canon but do prefer the Nikon design (controls, dials, etc) better. It used to be that Nikon was more (generally speaking) expensive but no so any longer. So, I have yet to decide where I am going with this..

  2. I hope you’re able to resolve the D600 issues. I love mine and consider it the best camera I’ve ever had. This photo shows what kind of versatility it’ capable of in the hands of someone like yourself.

    1. Well, the second body had an even worse issue (def. oil spots). Maybe I should have kept the first one! I do love the other aspects of the model but just am not willing to purchase it knowing their is an issue and how it might play out in the future. It will be either the D600 or a move to Canon with the 6D but I am in no hurry! Thanks for your input though….it was sad returning it.
      :*(

Leave a Reply

