Ride

“A man can’t ride your back unless it’s bent.”~ ML King

Or you’re a horse. I wanted to beg this man to ride that horse. I had never seen anyone riding a horse in one of my favorite local spots and that horse was such a beauty. I have ridden a few times in the past few years but the only thing offered here seems to be trail rides, which are nice but s-l-o-w.  I want to gallop.  It’s very exhilarating; you, your horse and both of your hair flying in the wind. Except when you almost lose half of said hair when a spunky, macho horse decides he wants to be in the front of the pack, which is exactly what happened to me years ago.

I was in college and I had to take a PE class so took horseback riding.  It was that or basket weaving and I figured horseback riding would be more fun. And it was, I’m sure. Until that one day when I got Wiseguy (not really his name, I’m just making that up)to ride.  Wiseguy seemed pretty docile for the first 10 minutes or so until I had to pull hard on the reins a few times because he kept wanting to pass (and bump into) other horses. At one point he just decided he was going for first place and passed all the other horses on the trail via uncleared brush and a tree.  He knew he could clear the tree branches and I knew my head could not.  I tried to duck as low as I could but my hair lost that battle.  It all took place in a flash and he was pretty happy as leader of the pack.  I was pretty unhappy with an egg on my skull and less hair on my head than when I started out the day.

But as they say, you have to get right back on the horse.  And I did, the next class. One bad experience (or even a few) should not rule your world. And I love horses so something like that is not going to deter me. But no one says you have to get right back on the same horse so I broke up with Wiseguy.  That is called risk management. 😉

Leave a Reply

