Layers

“The older the layers, the more each of them is uniform over a great extent; the newer the layers, the more they are limited and subject to variation within small distances.”~G Cuvier  

Well, these are most definitely some pretty old layers!

There was an eclipse last night, viewable in some of the Western US states and I decided to take a trip up to the Grand Canyon to photograph the event.  As far as photographing the eclipse goes…Fail!  I got  nothing.  I do have a flare for flare shots though 🙂 …a few look like they could be titled “Beam me up, Scotty” with a shot of green that almost looks like the Aurora Borealis.  But that was not what I was aiming for .

There were masses of people throughout the South Rim to see the collision of moon and sun and I saw some lenses that probably cost as much as my new car!     I shot a lot of dead trees during the bright mid-day sun while waiting for the big event. The Canyon was rather hazy and there wasn’t a spectacular sunset. The light went out with a whimper.

I’d have to say that this was my favorite picture.  I find it soothing with its tones of blue and layers of various shapes.

Leave a Reply

