Spires

“Many men build themselves as cathedrals are built, the part nearest the ground finished but that part which soars towards heaven, the turrets and spires, forever incomplete.”~HW Beecher

I took a little trip up to Sedona on Saturday.  I thought that I might stay for “Supermoon” but it didn’t quite work out that way.  Sedona is about an hour away from where I live and I usually end up visiting once every few months.

Had there been more snow this year, I’d have gone more but never made it this winter to shoot the red rocks covered in white.  There is always next year! And while it is a gorgeous spot, I find it a bit too touristy for my tastes. As a matter of fact, it took about 45 minutes for us to get through the town due to traffic, a drive which should only really take about 5 minutes. I imagine it is like that on most weekend days in summer. But it is a must see if you ever travel to Arizona and while the town is a tourist trap hot spot, there are still plenty of places to hike and enjoy its natural beauty.

And me, I’m exhausted but now done with moving all my things.  It was weird to see the vacant house and realize that this is yet another new chapter.  I loved my house, designed it just as I wanted it but in the end, fulfillment does not come from those kinds of things.  It is the icing on the cake if the rest of your life is happy but it can never be the actual cake. Now I am going to unwind with a glass of wine and a bath, maybe process some images and play my new-found addiction…Draw Something. I’m a terrible drawer with my iPhone finger but it’s just plain old fun anyway. And maybe I’ll  think about digging out and organizing. But nothing more than think about that for today as I am tired and ready to unwind.

Leave a Reply

