Vacant

A vacant mind is open to all suggestions, as a hollow mountain returns all sounds.~Chinese proverb

I would love to see an image of this building in its heyday.  It is located on the outskirts of Northern Phoenix’s city limits and probably in its time was out in the “middle of no where” and a rest stop for intrepid travelers going from Phoenix to maybe the Grand Canyon or other parts up North. The metal sign has worn to where you can read it still but the graphics (the hind end of a jackass) have deteriorated. It looks to me to be from the 1950s or 60s and had everything a good rest stop should carry.  You could even buy a piece of “Arizona gold” there to go along with your soda and cigarettes. I’m not sure Arizona gold is different from any other gold but I bet it made a great show and tell piece for the kids to take back home with them.

There is one thing I can say about Arizona and that is that it is unique…you never know what you might find here! Old cars, vintage items of all sorts, original architecture, real cowboys, fake cowboys, tall pines and snow in the winter, strange growing objects with lots of prickly spines, a big,beautiful gaping multi-colored hole in the earth called the Grand Canyon, even the London Bridge is here. Eccentric would be the best adjective to describe the place but hey, I am a NY girl by birth so maybe it’s not as eccentric to others as it sometimes appears to me. But in any case, it is different!

3 thoughts on “Vacant

  1. I love the proverb you chose, it is one of my favourites! I had the pleasure of going to Phoenix last summer for 10 days and as a girl from the prairies I was mesmerized by everything. It truly is a beautiful place with much character. I hope to return one day and explore further.

Leave a Reply

